All I Really Need to Know I Learned…where?

I was in a doctor’s office the other day, and was saw that poster that we all undoubtedly had in our rooms or in our office at one point in time – All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Kindergarten.

Adapted by the best selling book written by Robert Fulghum in 1988, it was definitely the mantra for many people my age growing up. This poster spawned many imitations. All I Really Need to Know I Learned From…My Cat, My Dog, Watching Star Trek – you name it, the list goes on.

Well I’m here today to propose a new version to this undeniable classic – All I Really Need to Know I Learned from Working in Marketing. It would go a little something like this:

Most of what I need to know about how to live, and what to do, and how to be, I’ve learned from working in the marketing industry. These are the things I learned.
Have any lessons to add to the list? Please share – who knows, maybe we’ll go into the publishing business some day!

Be original. Don’t be afraid to draw outside the lines or think outside of the box. It’s all about the ideas.

First impressions really do matter.

Don’t be afraid to take risks. After all, what’s the worst that can happen?

Be patient. Patience is indeed a virtue, and one that should be celebrated in our field.

Push back. Don’t take no for an answer. If you have a good idea and believe in it, then stick with it. Be heard.

Write it, read it, and then read it again (and again).

Perfection isn’t unrealistic, it’s expected. And, if god forbid you do make a mistake, reflect on it and learn from it.

Keep your eyes and ears open. You never know what you’re going to learn by being observant.

Compromise. Like a good marriage, sometimes we need to meet the other party in the middle. After all, what’s a little give with out a little take?

And finally, have fun. What good is working hard if you can’t have a little fun at the same time?

0 Responses to “All I Really Need to Know I Learned…where?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About Us

BluePoint provides a comprehensive range of consulting, marketing and public relations services to global technology and professional services companies.

Follow BluePoint on Twitter!

Subscribe: RSS


