Learning Curve

Last week I was asked by a former classmate of mine at Babson College – now a business management teacher at Peabody Veterans Memorial High School – to participate in a business panel at the school.

The point of the panel was to describe what area of business we work in and reflect on how we got to where we are. I still consider myself pretty young (and I like to think hip), but let me tell you – there is nothing more intimidating then getting up in front of a few hundred high schoolers (especially when I thought I’d only be addressing a classroom of 30 kids!). Talk about a good chance to practice my public speaking skills!

I was there to represent marketing, and was joined by an impressive roster of other area professionals representing various aspects of business – the VP of Operations from Finale Dessert Co., a CPA from PricewaterhouseCoopers, a human resources manager from Monster.com, a retired CIO turned math teacher, and a young entrepreneur and recent PVMHS grad.

Although most of the kids were probably looking for an excuse to get out of class, there were a few students who really did show an interest in the speakers and asked good questions at the end of the panel (albeit, after much prodding from their teachers!).

Overall, the panel was a success (I hope!) and I know I’m hoping we’ll be asked back next year – anything I can do to even start to make a difference to these kids (our future!) is well worth it. If you’re ever presented with an opportunity like this, I’d encourage you to dive right in.

“The great aim of education is not knowledge but action.” — Herbert Spencer

0 Responses to “Learning Curve”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About Us

BluePoint provides a comprehensive range of consulting, marketing and public relations services to global technology and professional services companies.

Follow BluePoint on Twitter!

Subscribe: RSS


