It’s the most wonderful time of the year!

While everyone else in our region was busy last night with the big rivalry weekend and watching the Pats/Chargers game and the Sox/Yanks game, I was enjoying my own favorite past time…the start of awards seasons, and thus, the beginning of the most wonderful time of the year – TV premier season.

As anyone who knows me will tell you, TV is not just a nice-to-have, it’s a need-to-have, can’t-live-without-it passion. There is no other time I look more forward to more than when all the new shows kick off and I can finally let my everyday worries be cast aside by the drama that’s going on between Meredith and McDreamy and whether the new Gossip Girl series really will finally replace the vacant spot left in my heart when the OC went away.

The unofficial start to the fall TV season has always been the Emmy Awards, which aired last night. I watch every year, starting with the pre-show on E!, to see who’s with who, who’s wearing what, and of course, who wins. Usually, the pre-show outshines the actual show itself. But, I have to say that thanks to Ryan Seacrest, a cooler show format, the stellar nominees, the Kanye cameo, and the better-than-the-super-bowl commercials, the main event was fantastic.

I was thrilled to see the Sopranos take it for Best Drama and maybe the best character on TV right now – Jeremy Piven’s Ari Gold – win Best Supporting Actor. Despite the fact that I didn’t agree with all of the winners (How can you not give James Gandolfini the Emmy…it’s Tony Soprano for god’s sake!! And as much as I adore Katherine Heigl, Chandra Wilson is by far the star of Grey’s!), the show overall was entertaining, lively, and a lot of fun to watch…more fun, I’m sure, then the Sox game. 🙂

So here’s a toast to TV…for bring sexy back to the drab awards shows and making my weekday evenings more complete. Cheers.

— Posted by Melissa Coyle

0 Responses to “It’s the most wonderful time of the year!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About Us

BluePoint provides a comprehensive range of consulting, marketing and public relations services to global technology and professional services companies.

Follow BluePoint on Twitter!

Subscribe: RSS


